Garden City KS DUI Lawyer
If you have been charged with a DUI in Garden City, KS or the surrounding area you are probably overwhelmed and a bit frightened with the effect it may have on your job, your family, your freedom and future.
You are right to be concerned because Kansas DUI laws can be very harsh. You need an experienced DUI defense lawyer who has a thorough knowledge of the complex Kansas DUI laws by your side to protect your rights. One thing is for certain, you should never try to defend yourself against a DUI charge alone.
Remember that there are hundreds of potential legal recourse’s that can help you get a reduced sentence, or even get the case thrown out completely. Without an experienced Garden City KS DUI attorney fighting for you these legal recourse’s can be easily overlooked causing you undue harm and consequences. Don’t let this happen to you.
Need a Garden City KS DUI Attorney?
Call Dean Ryan Law Now
Upon being charged with a Kansas DUI, the first thing you must do is request an administrative hearing. This must be done within 10 days to protect your driving privileges. If this is not done, your license can be suspended after 30 days from the date of the charge.
Depending on your situation, you may be eligible for what is called a DUI diversion agreement. The terms of this agreement will include fees, court costs, education programs and community service. Upon completion of the terms of the agreement the prosecutor will dismiss the charges.
Other possible outcomes include Work Release and House Arrest. With House Arrest, specific steps must be followed and an attorney is definitely necessary to guide you through the process.
The penalties for a DUI conviction can be severe. The first DUI is considered a Class B misdemeanor with anywhere from 2 days to 6 months imprisonment or 100 hours of community service and fines ranging from not less than $750 to not more than $1,000. For a second and third DUI conviction it only gets worse with mandatory fines ranging from $1,750 to $2,500 with a minimum sentence of 90 days jail time up to a maximum of one year.
If you have been charged with a Garden City KS DUI we will do everything possible to make sure you get the absolute best ruling possible. Remember, a DUI is a serious charge and even if it is your first offense it still includes jail time, driver license suspension and big fines. It will also certainly increase your insurance rates harshly, including potential cancellation. A DUI charge can also seriously affect your employment. Let us help you put this behind you so you can get on with your life under the best possible circumstances.